Rules To Collecting Cards

 

I decided that my baseball card collecting has gotten to be a little extreme lately. I have too many cards. I need to unload all of these extra cards now, and make some extra space in my closet. My biggest problem collecting cards lately has been I do not have a very specific Personal Collection (PC). I would keep all Detroit Tigers base, insert, etc. Past and present players. If it had the Old English D then I kept it. Another issue was I started trying to become a “prospecter”. What I mean by “prospecting” is to do research on a player and buy their cards before they are in the Big League and then sell for way more than you bought them for. This is great fun, but I do not have the patience for it.

 

I decided that I was going to make a pact with myself. I am going to make some rules and stick to them. These rules are going to make it so that I can not keep EVERY card that catches my eye. There is not much money coming in when you do not sell the valuable cards. Now that I have my rules I should be able to have a more concentrated PC, and more cards going in and out. More cards for me to “play” with. I am 31-years old with a 1 year 8 month old son, so why do I love these cards so much? I am sure it has something to do with holding on to childhood, my hording issues, or maybe my OCD-type behavior that makes me constantly organize and re-organize these valuable pieces of cardboard. OK, so I have a FEW flaws. My wife still loves me, and I love her too. My love for her and my boy are what makes me make these rules.

 

Rules For Collecting Cards:

 

1) Pick 5 things to collect for your Personal Collection*

 

2) Only collect Baseball Cards (Unless in PC)**

 

3) Add one card that is not in PC for every year you were born ***

 

4) Every year I have to try and collect the Topps Series 1, 2, and Update sets and put them in a binder ****

 

5) Sell EVERYTHING that is not PC

 

*I decided on being able to collect 5 things, because it is a fair number.

 

** I am scared that I will start collecting Lions cards. I really like the Lions, so I am cutting myself off.

 

*** This is my excuse to be able to keep some of the cards that I am attached to. 1985 Cory Snyder USA card for example J

 

**** My son was born in 2010. I decided then that I want to have a collection that I can hand down to him. I realize that the plain Topps sets will be worth little, but we will have tons of fun collecting these cards and ripping packs together trying to complete a set. I sure hope Bryce likes cards as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

