Who is YOUR Detroit Tiger?

 

I do not know how teams market their players everywhere, but in Michigan if you like the Tigers you have to pick “your Tiger”. The player you choose then is given special abilities. Not only is he on the best team in the world, but he is your favorite player on your favorite team. Previous to 2010 Curtis Granderson was “my Tiger”. I never would have thought that he would have gotten even better when he went to New York. Man, he is a great ballplayer. We could use his bat instead of Jackson’s, but that is a whole new argument.

 

So my guy gets traded to the damn Yankees, and I need a new Tiger. Do I want Cabrera with the best bat in baseball? Magglio Ordonez? Nope cut his hair and is getting too old. I thought to myself “maybe I will just watch some of these rookies and see how the season goes.”

 

I liked Austin Jackson from the beginning, but he was too much like Granderson. Then I saw Scott Sizemore and he had a solid swing, but he wore some ugly yellow batting gloves. Then the heavens opened up and shined down upon a new kid wearing #26 ……Brennan Boesch! The first time he came up to bat Boesch hit a double on the very first pitch. I liked his swagger and decided he was “my Tiger”. It wasn’t many games after that when Boesch and Scott Sizemore both belted their first HR in the MLB in the same inning, and that was cool to witness. Boesch has had his ups and downs, but we are bonded now. Win, lose, or draw that is my guy.

 

Who is your Tiger?

Leave a Reply

